Amateur Team Canada

Canada holds share of 27th after first round of World Amateur

(Golf Canada/Bernard Brault)

RIVIERA MAYA, Mexico –  The Canadian contingent of Jared du Toit, Hugo Bernard and Garrett Rank struggled out of the gate in the 30th World Amateur Team Championship, posting a collective score of even-par (144) to hold a share of 27th after the first round.

The trio was led by 21-year-old Jared du Toit of Kimberley, B.C., who carded a 71 (-1) on the Iberostar Playa Paraiso course—one of two courses in rotation this week. Individually, the Arizona State senior sits T34, five off the pace.

Team Canada’s second-counting score of the day was registered by Hugo Bernard of Mont-St-Hilaire, Que. The 21-year-old reigning Canadian Amateur champion scored a 1-over 73 to find himself in a tie for 77th through 18 holes of play. 29-year-old Garrett Rank of Elmira, Ont., recorded a non-counting 74 (+2), fighting back after slipping with a double and triple bogey in his first five holes.

Connor Syme shot a 6-under 66 to help Scotland take a one-stroke lead over Australia after the first round of the World Amateur Team Championship.

Walker Cup player Grant Forrest added a 68 at Iberostar Playa Paraiso to give Scotland a 10-under 134 total, with only the best two scores counting for the three-man teams. Robert MacIntyre had a 69.

The 20-year-old Syme topped the individual standings along with Poland’s Adrian Meronk. A rangekeeper at Drumoig Golf Centre in St. Andrews, Syme won the 2016 Australian Amateur.

Cameron Davis led Australia with a 67, Harrison Endycott had a 68, and U.S. Amateur champion Curtis Luck shot 69, also opening at Iberostar Playa Paraiso in the rotation with Mayakoba El Camaleon.

Spain was third 8-under at Iberostar Playa Paraiso. Mario Galiano shot 67, Manuel Elvira 69, and Ivan Cantero 71.

The two-time defending champion United States was tied for seventh at 5 under. Oklahoma’s Brad Dalke opened with a 67 at Mayakoba El Camaleon, Stanford’s Maverick McNealy had a 70, and Texas’ Scottie Scheffler a 73.

A biennial competition, the World Amateur Team Championship has been played since 1958, with the winner taking home the Eisenhower Trophy. The United States won the 2014 title in Karuizawa, Japan, by two strokes over the Canadian contingent of Corey Conners (Listowel, Ont.), Taylor Pendrith (Richmond Hill, Ont.) and Adam Svensson (Surrey, B.C.).

In 28 appearances at the World Amateur Team Championship, Canada has captured the Eisenhower Trophy on one occasion (1986) and earned runner-up honours five times.

Click here for full scoring.