PGA TOUR RBC Canadian Open

Dustin Johnson, Bubba Watson, Bryson Dechambeau, Si Woo Kim and Team RBC among early player commitments for 2017 RBC Canadian Open

(Matt Sullivan/Getty Images)

Golf Canada and RBC today announced Dustin Johnson, Bubba Watson, Si Woo Kim and Bryson DeChambeau have made early commitments to compete at the 2017 RBC Canadian Open from July 21-27 at Glen Abbey Golf Club in Oakville, Ont.

Johnson, who has been No. 1 on the Official World Golf Rankings since February of 2017, has three PGA TOUR victories this season to lead the FedEx Cup standings.

Bubba Watson last competed at the RBC Canadian Open in 2015, where he finished runner-up to Jason Day.

Si Woo Kim is coming off the biggest win of his career, taking top spot at the 2017 THE PLAYERS Championship to climb to No. 32 in the Official World Golf Ranking and 22nd on the FedEx Cup Standings.

DeChambeau, a popular player with fans, enjoyed a career-best PGA TOUR finish at the 2017 Puerto Rico Open, where he tied for second with Retief Goosen and Bill Lunde.

Ten members of Team RBC have also committed to compete at Canada’s National Open Championship, including Canada’s Adam Hadwin, Graham DeLaet, Nick Taylor and David Hearn. The Canadians will be joined by teammates Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Matt Kuchar, Graeme McDowell, Ryan Palmer and Brandt Snedeker.

In addition, a sponsor exemption has been extended to Jared du Toit of Kimberly, B.C. The Golf Canada Amateur Team member sprung to notoriety thanks to a stellar showing at the 2016 RBC Canadian Open, where he finished 9th.

The field also features all three Order of Merit winners from the first three seasons of the Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada, including Canadian and 2013 Order of Merit winner Mackenzie Hughes, along with Joel Dahmen (2014) and J.J. Spaun (2015). Other early Canadian player commitments include Ottawa’s Brad Fritsch and Canadian Golf Hall of Fame Honoured Member Mike Weir.

“Our field is coming together and we’re thrilled to welcome some of the best player in the world, a good mix of top international talent and a solid list of Canadians as early commitments for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open,” said Tournament Director Brent McLaughlin.

A Canadian has not won the RBC Canadian Open since Pat Fletcher in 1954. However, Mackenzie Hughes (The RSM Classic) and Adam Hadwin (Valspar Championship) each have PGA TOUR wins this season.

“This will be an exciting year for Canadian golf fans for sure,” added McLaughlin. “We’ve come close in recent years with David Hearn finishing 3rd in 2015 and du Toit’s terrific run last year. This may be the year the drought finally comes to an end.”

Team Canada member Hugo Bernard of Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Que., won the 2016 Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship to earn an exemption into the RBC Canadian Open, while NHL Referee and Elmira, Ont., native Garrett Rank won his spot by claiming the 2016 Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship. In mid-May, Matt Hill of Brights Grove, Ont., won the Ontario Regional Qualifier to earn his spot.

Additional player announcements will be made in the coming weeks. Players have until 5 pm ET Friday before tournament week to confirm their participation with the PGA TOUR.

Information regarding tickets, free 17-and-under junior passes, volunteer opportunities and corporate hospitality for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open can be found at