19th Hole

GJAC announces Year End Player of the Year and Story of the Year Awards

Nick Taylor (Bernard Brault/ Golf Canada)

TORONTO – The Golf Journalists Association of Canada (GJAC) has announced their golf story of the year, as well as various Player of the Year awards for the 2023 season.

“GJAC is pleased to recognize Canadian professional and amateur golfers again this year with our year end player and Canadian golf story of the year awards,” said Mike Johnny, President of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada. “Golf continues to thrive across Canada.  Participation remains high and consistent with its success at the grassroots, the professional and amateur play of Canadians is also at an all-time high.  Nick Taylor’s iconic victory at the RBC Canadian Open is symbolic of the successes enjoyed in the game of golf by Canadians across professional and amateur competition.”

Without further ado; here is the story of the year and Players of the Year for the 2023 season

Nick Taylor’s Historic Win Named GJAC Story of the Year

Nick Taylor’s victory at Oakdale Golf and Country Club in dramatic fashion in a playoff over Tommy Fleetwood was voted as the golf story of the year.  Having a Canadian win our national open championship is special, but the matter in which it was achieved; sinking a 72-foot putt in a sudden-death playoff, capped a moment Canadian golf fans will never forget.

Nick Taylor Named Male Professional of the Year

A career-defining moment gave Canadian golf fans a feeling they have been waiting for since Mike Weir’s win at the 2003 Masters.

While the twenty-years in-between saw quite a few notable Canadian performances – no year had been more prominent than 2023.

Along with Taylor’s win at Oakdale Golf and Country Club, Mackenzie Hughes captured the Sanderson Farms Championship, Adam Svensson broke through for his first PGA TOUR title at The RSM Classic, and Corey Conners won the Valero Texas Open for the second time. Adam Hadwin also added three runner-up finishes this past season.

Of course, it was Taylor’s win that stood out and makes him our Player of the Year, as voted by GJAC members. 

Brooke Henderson named Female Professional Player of the Year

Once again, the most decorated Canadian professional player collected more than enough votes among GJAC members to be named the Female Professional of the Year.

Brooke made Canadians proud (which she has done perennially in her career) with an early-season win and 10 top-20 finishes on the LPGA Tour, including a runner-up at the Evian Championship.

Ashton McCulloch named Male Amateur of the Year

With a win at the Canadian Amateur Championship and a runner-up finish at the Ontario Amateur Championship, McCulloch had a standout 2023 summer in Canada following a notable spring season south of the border at Michigan State University.

The five-stroke win at the Canadian Amateur Championship was the biggest victory of the Kingston, Ontario product’s career to date as he is now mid-way through his Junior season with the Spartans.

Savannah Grewal named Female Amateur of the Year

Savannah Grewal capped off a historic collegiate career at Clemson University with a victory at the Cougar Classic in Charleston – finishing her final season as a first-team All-ACC team member with a 71.77 stroke average, best in school history.

Following a tremendous 2023 amateur season, Grewal recently turned professional and is one of the newest members of the LPGA Tour, finishing T10 at the final stage of Q-School.