Leaders Alisha Lau and Alexander Smith fight wet conditions at CN Future Links Prairie Championship

temp fix empty alt images for attachment
(Golf Canada)

Heavy rainfall in Prince Albert, Sask., this morning delayed the start of the second round of the CN Future Links Prairie Championship until mid-afternoon. Despite the wet conditions, Alisha Lau and Alexander Smith did not let the weather dampen their spirits as the competition continued at Cooke Municipal Golf Course.

After the lengthy weather delay, Team Canada Development Squad member Alisha Lau maintained her focus to post a 1-over-par round of 73 to take the lead in the Junior Girls division. The Richmond, B.C., product currently sits at 3-over 147 for the tournament, a single shot ahead of opening round leader Mary Parsons. The Delta, B.C., native posted a round of 79 to fall back into second place at 148. Moving into third place with a second round 73 was Shirin Anjarwalla of Nanaimo, B.C., who sits at 6-over 150 for the tournament.

In the Junior Boys division, first round leader Alexander Smith increased his lead to 5-strokes with a second round of 1-under-par 71. The Calgary, Alta., native mirrored his first round performance by once again eagling his second hole of play. His eagle today came on the par-5 hole 11, after having started his round on hole 10.

Holding second place at 145 are B.C., natives Logan Yanick from Courtenay who posted a 2-under 70 and Josh Miller of Victoria who finished the day at 75. Fellow British Columbian A.J. Ewart from Coquitlam posted the low round of the day, a 4-under par 68, to sit in fourth place at 146.

The top six finishers in the Junior Boys division of each CN Future Links Championship will receive an exemption into the field at the 2015 Canadian Junior Boys Championship. The national championship will be contested at Summerlea Golf and Country Club in Vaudreuil-Dorion, Que., from August 2-6.

The 2015 Canadian Junior Girls Championship will take place in Yorkton, Sask., from August 3-7 at Deer Park Golf Course. Earning entry into this competition will be the top six junior girls from each CN Future Links Championship this season. In addition, the six CN Future Links Junior Girls champions will gain exemptions into a 2016 Canadian Women’s Tour event of their choice.

The final round at the CN Future Links Prairie Championship will start tomorrow with tee times beginning at 7a.m.

Full second round results and additional information for the 2015 CN Future Links Prairie Championship can be found here.