PGA of Canada announces 2014 national award winners

temp fix empty alt images for attachment
Brad Fritsch (Golf Canada/ Bernard Brault)

Acton, Ont. — The PGA of Canada’s 2014 national award winners have been announced and will be honoured in January at the association’s PGA of Canada Night celebrations in Orlando, Fla., as part of the PGA Merchandise Show.

This year’s winners include Dave Levesque (Pure Golf Experience), Mike Weir Player of the Year; Wayne Fairbairn (Calgary Elks Lodge & Golf Club), Pat Fletcher Retailer of the Year; Brodie Carle (Predator Ridge Golf Resort), Moe Norman Apprentice of the Year; Liam Mucklow (The Golf Lab), George Knudson Teacher of the Year; Jeff Overholt (Golf Performance Coaches), Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year; Henry Brunton (Henry Brunton Golf), Ben Kern Coach of the Year; Cory Kartusch (St. Charles Country Club), Murray Tucker Golf Professional of the Year; Ashley Zibrik (Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club), Tex Noble Award for Professional Development; Jeremy Tanner (Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club), Stan Leonard Class “A” Professional of the Year; and Arnold Palmer, George Cumming Distinguished Service Award.

“This year’s PGA of Canada national award winners are truly great golf professionals and on behalf of the national board of directors’ and the association’s 3,700 members, I’m proud to congratulate them today on their achievements,” said Constant Priondolo, PGA of Canada president.

Each year, a national selection committee evaluates application submissions from zone award winners and recognizes winners in each of the categories.

The winners will receive their award and be honoured in January at the association’s Canada Night celebrations at the PGA Merchandise Show in Orlando, Fla. Canada Night takes place in Orlando, Fla., January 22, 2015 at the PGA Merchandise Show (Orange County Convention Centre) at 5p.m. in room 109A.

“PGA of Canada Night at the PGA Merchandise Show is always an excellent, well-attended event,” Priondolo said. “Not only is it an opportunity to mix and mingle with others in the golf industry, but it’s also a chance to celebrate the PGA of Canada professionals who have been recognized as national award winners.”

George Clifton will also be inducted into the PGA of Canada Hall of Fame during PGA of Canada Night.

“We will proudly induct another great PGA of Canada professional—George Clifton— into our PGA of Canada Hall of Fame at Canada Night,” said Warren Crosbie, PGA of Canada Hall of Fame Chair. “I would greatly encourage those interested in learning more about the members of the hall of fame, as well as the history of the association to visit the PGA of Canada Hall of Fame website.” Al Balding; Dave Barr; David Black; Gordie Brydson; George Cumming; Pat Fletcher; Brent Franklin; Daniel Halldorson; Wilf Homenuik; Jules Huot; Karl Keffer; Ben Kern; George Knudson; Willie Lamb; Stan Leonard; Henry Martell; Jack McLaughlin; Albert Murray; Charles Murray; Jim Nelford; Moe Norman; Bob Panasik; Cathy Sherk; Murray Tucker; Mike Weir; and Richard Zokol made up the inaugural class of PGA of Canada Hall of Fame members who were inducted at this year’s Canada Night celebrations.

For more information on the PGA of Canada Hall of Fame, click here.