Alberta Golf names 2016 Player of the Year award winners

Frank Van Dornick (Golf Canada/ Julie Whelan)

Calgary – Alberta Golf has announced the 2016 Player of the Year recipients.

“We are thrilled to celebrate our winners and two junior achievers for their performances over the course of the 2016 season that led to their successes on both the Provincial and National Orders of Merit,” said Randy Robb, Alberta Golf’s Manager of High Performance Sport. “These rankings recognize our athletes’ incredible accomplishments while also providing them with a measuring stick for their continued development as a player.”

The Player Rankings are used to identify and give recognition to top performing amateur & junior golfers across Alberta who has achieved success in the golf season. The Alberta Golf Rankings are based on those Championships that represent an high standard of competition. A point system is used based on the scores and results of the players in the approved events in order to objectively rank each individuals performance.

The objective of the Alberta Golf Rankings is to provide a Provincial comparison/ranking system for Alberta’s top junior/amateur players which will enable players to compare themselves to their counterparts across the country. The Alberta Golf Player Rankings is also used to select Camp invitations, Multi-Sport Games (Western Canada Games/Canada Summer Games) participants, High Performance Team Members and the invitations for the PGA of Alberta Junior Masters.

Being named the Player of the Year is a true testament to the dedication, hard work and commitment to achieve the goals set at the beginning of each competitive season.

The 2016 Player of the Year winners are:

Junior Boys Division:

  1. Brendan MacDougall
  2. Chandler McDowell
  3. Max Sekulic
  4. Max Murchison
  5. Ethan Choi

Juvenile Boys Division:

  1. Chandler McDowell
  2. Max Murchison
  3. Ethan Choi
  4. Kai Iguchi
  5. 5. Ethan de Graaf

Bantam Boys Division:

  1. Ethan Choi
  2. Marko Banic
  3. Hunter Thomson
  4. Caden Park
  5. Thomas Sluka

Junior Girls Division:

  1. Kenna Hughes
  2. Sharmaine Rapisura
  3. Kehler Koss
  4. Katy Rutherford
  5. Annabelle Ackroyd

Juvenile Girls Division: 

  1. Annabelle Ackroyd
  2. Taylor Stone
  3. Lauren Koenig
  4. Jessica Marks
  5. Reese Martin

Bantam Girls Division: 

  1. Annabelle Ackroyd
  2. MacKenzie Baustad
  3. Kaitlyn Wingnean
  4. Tillie Claggett
  5. Stephanie Chelack

Mens Amateur Division:

  1. Evan Holmes
  2. Matt Williams
  3. Scott Secord
  4. Jordan Irwin
  5. Brett Hogan

Ladies Amateur Division:

  1. Kat Kennedy
  2. Jaclyn Lee
  3. Quinn Fitzgerald
  4. Lauren Diederichs
  5. Erin Farner

Senior Mens Division:

  1. Frank Van Dornick
  2. David Schultz
  3. Brian Brown
  4. Christopher Hairrell
  5. Howard Broun

Senior Ladies Division:

  1. Lynn Kuehn
  2. Cheryl Newman
  3. Joan Wilson
  4. Susan Plum
  5. Barbara Flaman/ Susan Thomson

Boys Junior Achiever of the Year 

 Logan Carver

  1. T21 Canadian Junior Boys Championship
  2. 14th Alberta Men’s Amateur Championship
  3. 3. T7 Alberta Junior Boys Championship

Girls Junior Achiever of the Year 

 Claire Emery

  1. 9th Alberta Junior Girls Championship
  2. 5th Future Links Western Championship
  3. 1st CJGA RedTail Landing event