Bubba Watson among 14 in-year PGA TOUR winners confirmed for 2015 RBC Canadian Open

temp fix empty alt images for attachment
Bubba Watson (Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Oakville, Ont. – Fresh off a victory this past weekend, Bubba Watson has confirmed his intention to compete in the 2015 RBC Canadian Open, July 20-26 at Glen Abbey Golf Club in Oakville, Ont.

Watson outlasted Paul Casey in a two-hole playoff this past Sunday to win the 2015 Travelers Championship, his second PGA TOUR win in 2015 (World Golf Championship-HSBC Champions). The eight-time PGA TOUR winner will be making his sixth RBC Canadian Open appearance and his fourth at Glen Abbey. The long-hitting lefty is currently ranked No. 3 in the world and No. 3 in the FedEx Cup standings.

With his addition to the field, Watson will be one of 14 PGA TOUR 2014-15 winners who have confirmed their intention to compete for Canada’s National Championship including Sangmoon Bae ( Open), Robert Streb (The McGladrey Classic), Charley Hoffman (OHL Classic at Mayacoba), Brooks Koepka (Waste Management Phoenix Open), Alex Cejka (Puerto Rico Open), Matt Every (Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard), J.B. Holmes (Shell Houston Open), Chris Kirk (Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial) and Fabian Gomez (FedEx St. Jude Classic).

Team RBC returns to Glen Abbey…

Four of the in-year winners confirmed for Glen Abbey are members of Team RBC including World No. 5 Jim Furyk (RBC Heritage) who is a two-time former Canadian Open champion. Fellow Team RBC member and World No. 8 Jason Day is a two-time winner in 2015 with a victory at the Farmers Insurance Open and partnering with Cameron Tringale to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout. World No. 26 Brandt Snedeker (AT&T Pebble Beach  National Pro-Am) who won the 2013 RBC Canadian Open at Glen Abbey along with Canadian Nick Taylor (Sanderson Farms Championship) round out the list of Team RBC in-year PGA TOUR winners.

Other Team RBC ambassadors set to compete at Glen Abbey include World No. 16 Matt Kuchar, World No. 30 Ryan Palmer, World No. 48 Graeme McDowell, World No. 65 Luke Donald, and World Golf Hall of Fame member Ernie Els. In addition, Canadian Team RBC members Graham DeLaet, David Hearn, Adam Hadwin and Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Mike Weir will be among the fan-favourites competing for Canada’s National Open Championship.

“The quality and depth of talent on today’s PGA TOUR has never been stronger and we’re thrilled to welcome World No. 3 Bubba Watson, World No. 5 Jim Furyk and World No. 8 Jason Day among our 14 in-year winners confirmed for this year’s RBC Canadian Open,” said RBC Canadian Open Tournament Director Brent McLaughlin. “Along with Canadian and international Team RBC athletes, our field is coming together and no doubt, golf fans will be treated to a world-class showcase at Glen Abbey.”

Other notables who have confirmed their intention to compete in the $5.8M RBC Canadian Open include World No. 40 Hunter Mahan; World No. 57 Marc Leishman; two-time U.S. Open champion Retief Goosen; 2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover; 2009 Open Championship winner Stewart Cink; 12-time PGA TOUR winner Justin Leonard; nine-time PGA TOUR winner Stuart Appleby and six-time PGA TOUR winner Rory Sabbatini.

Most recent players confirmed to compete in the 2015 RBC Canadian Open include:

Bubba Watson

Jim Furyk

Jason Day

J.B. Holmes

Matt Kuchar

Chris Kirk

Brooks Koepka

Brandt Snedeker

Ryan Palmer                               

Hunter Mahan

Marc Leishman

Charley Hoffman

Graeme McDowell

Matt Every

Luke Donald

Ernie Els

Graham DeLaet

David Hearn

Adam Hadwin

Nick Taylor

Mike Weir

Retief Goosen

Lucas Glover

Stewart Cink

Justin Leonard

Stuart Appleby

Rory Sabbatini

Additional player and tournament announcements will be made in the coming weeks. The final field for the 2015 RBC Canadian Open will be released on Friday, July 17, 2015 after 5 p.m. ET.

For information about tickets, FREE 17-and-under junior passes, volunteer opportunities or corporate hospitality for the 2015 RBC Canadian Open, please visit