Inside Golf House Media Release

Liz Hoffman elected to serve a second term as President

Liz Hoffman
(Golf Canada)

Golf Canada’s 2022 Annual Meeting culminated on Thursday, March 3rd with the election of Liz Hoffman of Wasaga Beach, Ont. to serve a second term as the 116th President of the National Sport Federation.

Hoffman, a member of both Mad River Golf Club in Creemore, Ont. as well as The Thornhill Club in Vaughn, Ont. is joined by Vice-President Dale Jackson of Victoria, B.C. in leading the 13-member Board of Directors who will work closely with Golf Canada CEO Laurence Applebaum. 

Based on the report of Golf Canada’s Nominating Committee, Hoffman and Jackson will be joined on the 2022 Board of Directors by returnees Alison Chisholm of Rothesay, N.B., Adam Daifallah of Montreal, Que., Diane Drury-Clarke of Montreal, Que., Shawn Evans of Kitchener, Ont., Patrick Kelly of Victoria, B.C., Susan MacKinnon of Calgary, Alta., Peter Major of Calgary, Alta., David McCarthy of Toronto, Ont., Jean-Sébastien  Monty of Montreal, Que., and Rai Sahi of Mississauga, Ont., along with new addition Michelle Collens of Vancouver, B.C. 

“I am extremely honoured that the Nominating Committee and membership has extended their confidence in me to serve a second term as President”

Liz Hoffman

“In 2021, the organization and our sport continued to grow with pace and 2022 is going to be another special year. Our National Open Championships are back, Canadian high-performance golf is accelerating, First Tee – Canada will continue to roll out across Canada, industry collaboration with our provincial and national partners has never been stronger, and most importantly, people are enjoying the game and everything it has to offer.”   

Long time Golf Canada volunteers Barbara Allan of Kingston, Ont. and Jim Clark of Aurora, Ont. were recognized at the Annual Meeting for their contributions to the association as Honorary Life Governors. Golf Canada’s 2022 Annual Meeting was conducted virtually over two days, March 2-3 with volunteers, staff, member clubs, and key industry stakeholders participating.

2021 Annual Report & Financial Statements

Click here to read Golf Canada’s 2021 Annual Report, which includes a recap of the past season, as well as the organization’s 2021 Financial Statements, which were released during Golf Canada’s Annual General Meeting.

Feature Presentations

Golf Canada’s 2022 Outlook & Operational Plan – presented by Golf Canada CEO Laurence Applebaum

Keynote Address: Fireside Chat with International Golf Federation President & World Golf Hall of Fame Member, Annika Sörenstam – hosted by Golf Canada President Liz Hoffman

Canadian Golf High-Performance Strategy – presented by Golf Canada Chief Sport Officer Kevin Blue

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Safe Sport – Introduced by Golf Canada Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Safe Sport, Laura Wilson

Ken Casey and David Atkinson named co-recipients of the 2021 Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year… 

In the continued celebration of volunteerism, Golf Canada also recognized Ken Casey of St. John’s, N.L. and David Atkinson, formerly of Vancouver, B.C. and now Goderich, Ont. as the 2021 co-recipients of the Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year Award. Now in its 16th year, candidates for the Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year Award are put forth to Golf Canada for consideration by the respective provincial golf associations in acknowledgment of significant contributions to the game of golf in their community.  Click here for more.

Volunteers Ruth & Ian Giles along Golf Journalist Garry McKay to Receive Golf Canada’s 2022 Distinguished Service Award…

Golf Canada announced that three accomplished golf contributors from Hamilton, Ont. – tireless volunteers Ruth and Ian Giles along with esteemed golf journalist Garry McKay – will be acknowledged for their tremendous contributions to the sport as the 2022 recipients of Golf Canada’s Distinguished Service Award. The presentation of the Distinguished Service Award will be celebrated in person during the week of the 108th playing of the Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship, July 19-22 at Westmount Golf and Country Club in Kitchener, Ont.  Click here for more.