Amateur Team Canada

Team Canada looks for third straight victory at Jones Cup

Blair Hamilton

SEA ISLAND, Ga. – Four of Team Canada’s National Amateur Squad members are set to tee-it-up on Friday at the Jones Cup Invitational at the Ocean Forest Golf Club.

Blair Hamilton (Burlington, Ont.), Eric Banks (Truro, N.S.), Hugo Bernard (Mont-St-Hilaire, Que.) and Stuart Macdonald (Vancouver) will each look to become the third consecutive Canadian to win the event. Former Amateur Squad member and dual citizen Austin Connelly of Austin, Tex., took home the honours in 2015, with current Young Pro Squad member Corey Conners of Listowel, Ont., winning the hardware the year before.

The Canadian foursome will tee-it-up against a strong international field when the 54-hole stroke-play event kicks off Friday morning. Jared du Toit (Kimberley, B.C.), the fifth member of the Amateur Squad, is competing in Hawaii for Arizona State’s first event back after the break.

First contested in 2001, the Jones Cup boasts an impressive list of past participants including PGA TOUR stars Luke Donald, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Brandt Snedeker and Bubba Watson.

Click here for live scoring.