Team Alberta wins provincial title at 2019 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship

temp fix empty alt images for attachment

TORONTO – Following a 30-minute early morning fog delay, the second round of the 2019 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship concluded Wednesday at Cedar Brae Golf Club, where Team Alberta emerged as provincial senior team champions.

The Alberta trio, consisting of Ken Griffith (Red Deer), Brian Laubman (Edmonton) and Frank Van Dornick (Camrose) combined for a second-round score of 4-under to capture the Phil Farley Memorial Trophy with a team total of 282 (-2).

“Each guy just wanted to try and play as well as he could, not only for himself but also for the team,” said Alberta’s Van Dornick. “We didn’t hear any numbers out there, but we knew it was close coming down the stretch.”

Team Alberta didn’t realize how close the competition was. With the sun nearly set, Alberta’s Griffith holed a 10-foot putt for birdie on his final hole to solidify the team title.

Finishing runner-up, a single shot back of Alberta was Team Ontario. The team of David Greenaway from Barrie, Robert Gibson of Toronto and Ashley Chinner of Brooklin had a two-day tally of 283 (-1).

The Team from British Columbia, which included Doug Roxburgh (Vancouver), Jim Shaw (Sooke) and Sandy Harper (Nanaimo) rounded out the top three at 290 (+6).

Gene Elliott of West Des Moines, IA, carded the low round of the tournament, a 5-under par 66, to move into sole possession of the lead overall in the individual competition.

Elliott, who captured the 2017 Canadian Men’s Senior title, sits 5-under and has a three-shot lead over the field.

“I kept the ball in play, mostly below the hole and putted well,” said Elliott. “Yesterday was windier and I didn’t hit it a lot different today. But I made more putts today and that helps.”

Trailing Elliott is a pair of Canadians. Mark Brewer of Pickering, Ont., carded a 68 Wednesday, while Red Deer’s Ken Griffith shot 69. The pair sit T2 at 2-under.

A 65-and-over Super Senior Championship is running concurrently throughout the championship. After 36 holes of play, Lars Melander of Oakville, Ont., leads the pack at -1 (141). Van Dornick trails by three shots at +2 (144), while 2010 Senior Champion and 2017 Super Senior Champion Paul Simson of Raleigh, NC, sits third at +5 (147).

Following the opening two rounds, the field was reduced to the low 70 players and ties. A total of 70 players finished at +14 (156) or better to sit inside the 36-hole cutline. The third round will begin Thursday at 8:30 a.m. EDT.

The individual champion receives an exemption into the 2020 U.S. Senior Amateur championship to be contested at The Country Club of Detroit, in Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.


  1. Gene Elliott, West Des Moines, IA, *71-66-137 -5
    2. Mark Brewer, Pickering, ON, *72-68-140 -2
    2. Ken Griffith, Red Deer, AB, *71-69-140 -2
    4. Sandy Harper, Nanaimo, BC, *72-69-141 -1
    4. Lars Melander, Oakville, ON, *74-67-141 -1


  1. Lars Melander, Oakville, ON, *74-67-141 -1
    2. Frank Van Dornick, Camrose, AB, *75-69-144 +2
    3. Paul Simson, Raleigh, NC, *76-71-147 +5
    4. Doug Roxburgh, Vancouver, BC, *74-75-149 +7
    5. Lance Lundy, Pemberton, BC, *76-75-151 +9
    5. Bruce McEwen, Scarborough, ON, *76-75-151 +9
    5. Ken Warwick, Winnipeg, MB, *72-79-151 +9


  1. Team Alberta: Ken Griffith (Red Deer), Brian Laubman (Edmonton), Frank Van Dornick (Camrose) *144-138-282 -2
    2. Team Ontario: David Greenaway (Barrie, ON), Robert Gibson (Toronto), Ashley Chinner (Brooklin) *144-139-283 -1
    3. Team British Columbia: Doug Roxburgh (Vancouver), Jim Shaw (Sooke), Sandy Harper (Nanaimo) *146-144-290 +6

Additional information, including a full list of competitors and scores can be found here.